About Myanmar

Country name: Republic of the Union of Myanmar
Climate: Tropical (subtropical in the north) with permanent high humidity. Rainy season from mid-May to mid-October
Location: Southeast Asia, sea border: Bay of Bengal and Gulf of Martaban 2800 km, Borders: 5800 km (Bangladesh, India, China, Laos and Thailand)
Country size: 676.577 sq km - almost three times as big as the UK
Capital city: Government seat, "Naypyidaw" (since 2006, about 100.000 inhabitants), to become the capital city of the country after the passing of a new constitution
Population: About 55 million
Lineage: The majority belonging to the Tibetan-Burmese ethnic group, also Mon-Khmer and Thai-Chinese lineage groups; overall 135 distinguishable ethnic groups
Languages: Burmese as main language (spoken by about 70% of the population as first language), minority languages like Shan, Kachin, Arakenese,Chin, Mon, Karen. English is first foreign language and language of diplomatic and international business dealings
Religions: Theravada-Buddhism (about 89%), Christian (about 5%), Muslim (about 4%), Hindu and Animist (each about 1%)
(Source: Federal Foreign Office of Germany)